Luce pastello

MITO SettembreMusica 2022

Touring production

After two years with a reduced format, the MITO SettembreMusica festival returns with an edition entitled luci that provides an imaginative exploration of the relationship between music and light, and between listening and seeing. 

Piccolo Teatro Studio Melato

This relationship is at times rendered explicit by the composers themselves – indications such as chiaro or scuro or luminoso can be found on many scores from differing eras and places –, and at times from external reflections that emerge during the performances themselves.
Of the more than one hundred concerts taking place in Milan and Turin, six are hosted by the Teatro Studio Melato, covering the extensive musical repertoire; from the languid colours of Purcell and Handel to the radiant light of Haydn and Mozart; from the vivid contrasts of Beethoven and Brahms to the dazzling brightness of twentieth-century and contemporary compositions by Astor Piazzolla and John Adams.
During the concert Pastel Light, an incredible duo featuring clarinet and lute (David Orlowsky and David Bergmüller) gives us a downy-soft reinterpretation of the England of Purcell and Dowland. Plus some brand-new, very curious music that is super seductive.

The concert takes place at the Teatro Studio Melato, on Friday 9 September, 5 PM

Tickets are on sale at the Teatro Dal Verme box office (Via San Giovanni sul Muro, 2, Milan, tel. +39 02 87905201, from Tuesday to Saturday, 10.30 AM-6.30 PM; email* and on the websites and

*The Teatro Dal Verme box office is closed to the public from Sunday 31 July to Monday 29 August

Duration: 60’ without interval

The Playbill

Luce pastello
clarinet David Orlowsky 
lute David Bergmüller
music by Henry Purcell, Johannes Hieronymus Kapsberger, David Orlowsky / David Bergmüller
Henry Purcell
When I am laid in earth

Johannes Hieronymus Kapsberger
Toccata Arpeggiata

David Orlowsky David Bergmüller
Passacaglia No. 13

Thomas Preston
Uppon la mi re

John Dowland

David Orlowsky David Bergmüller
Passacaglia No. 1

David Bergmüller
Napoli Sketch 1 e 2
David Orlowsky

Henry Purcell
What power art thou
Music For a While
€ 5
Buy now

Other shows on this theater