Breve storia del quartetto d’archi, part one

MITO Settembre Musica 2022

Touring production

After two years with a reduced format, the MITO SettembreMusica festival returns with an edition entitled luci that provides an imaginative exploration of the relationship between music and light, and between listening and seeing. 

Piccolo Teatro Studio Melato

This relationship is at times rendered explicit by the composers themselves – indications such as chiaro or scuro or luminoso can be found on many scores from differing eras and places –, and at times from external reflections that emerge during the performances themselves.
Of the more than one hundred concerts taking place in Milan and Turin, six are hosted by the Teatro Studio Melato, covering the extensive musical repertoire; from the languid colours of Purcell and Handel to the radiant light of Haydn and Mozart; from the vivid contrasts of Beethoven and Brahms to the dazzling brightness of twentieth-century and contemporary compositions by Astor Piazzolla and John Adams.
A Brief History of the string quartet: part one is an unusual and curious concert by Meta4 Quartet which aims to discover the evolution of music for string quartet since the formation codified by Boccherini and Haydn, to 19th century with Schumann and Brahms.

The concert takes place at the Teatro Studio Melato, on Friday 16 September, 5 PM

Tickets are on sale at the Teatro Dal Verme box office (Via San Giovanni sul Muro, 2, Milan, tel. +39 02 87905201, from Tuesday to Saturday, 10.30 AM-6.30 PM; email* and on the websites and

*The Teatro Dal Verme box office is closed to the public from Sunday 31 July to Monday 29 August

Duration: 60’ without interval

The Playbill

Breve storia del quartetto d’archi, prima parte
Meta4 Quartet
music by Luigi Boccherini, Franz Joseph Haydn, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Ludwig van Beethoven, Franz Schubert, Fanny Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, Robert Schumann, Johannes Brahms
Luigi Boccherini
Quartetto in si bemolle maggiore

Franz Joseph Haydn
Poco adagio from Quartetto in do maggiore op. 76 n. 3 Hob. III:77

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Molto allegro from Quartetto in sol maggiore K. 387

Ludwig van Beethoven
Vivace from Quartetto in fa maggiore op. 135

Franz Schubert
Quartettsatz in do minore D. 703

Fanny Mendelssohn-Bartholdy
Adagio ma non troppo from Quartetto in mi bemolle maggiore

Robert Schumann
Assai agitato from Quartetto in la maggiore op. 41 n. 3

Johannes Brahms
Andante from Quartetto in si bemolle maggiore op. 67
€ 5
Book now

Other shows on this theater