Breve storia del quartetto d’archi, part two

MITO SettembreMusica 2022

Touring production

After two years with a reduced format, the MITO SettembreMusica festival returns with an edition entitled luci that provides an imaginative exploration of the relationship between music and light, and between listening and seeing. 

Piccolo Teatro Studio Melato

This relationship is at times rendered explicit by the composers themselves – indications such as chiaro or scuro or luminoso can be found on many scores from differing eras and places –, and at times from external reflections that emerge during the performances themselves.
Of the more than one hundred concerts taking place in Milan and Turin, six are hosted by the Teatro Studio Melato, covering the extensive musical repertoire; from the languid colours of Purcell and Handel to the radiant light of Haydn and Mozart; from the vivid contrasts of Beethoven and Brahms to the dazzling brightness of twentieth-century and contemporary compositions by Astor Piazzolla and John Adams.
A brief history of the string quartet: part two is the second and final episode in our string quartet adventure by Meta4 Quartet – which may be enjoyed even without having heard part one – takes listeners on a one-hour journey through the transformation of music composed for the string quartet, from the end of the 19th century and Grieg, all the way to the latest, most curious inventions by Kaja Saariaho and John Adams.

The concert takes place at the Teatro Studio Melato, on Saturday 17 September, 5 PM

Tickets are on sale at the Teatro Dal Verme box office (Via San Giovanni sul Muro, 2, Milan, tel. +39 02 87905201, from Tuesday to Saturday, 10.30 AM-6.30 PM; email* and on the websites and

*The Teatro Dal Verme box office is closed to the public from Sunday 31 July to Monday 29 August

Duration: 60’ without interval

The Playbill

Breve storia del quartetto d’archi, part two
Meta4 Quartet
music by Edvard Grieg, Maurice Ravel, Alban Berg, Béla Bartók, Samuel Barber, Dmitrij Šostakovič, Kaija Saariaho, John Adams
Edvard Grieg
Presto al saltarello from Quartetto in sol minore op. 27

Maurice Ravel
Allegro moderato from Quartetto in fa maggiore
Alban Berg
Allegro misterioso from Lyrische Suite

Béla Bartók
Scherzo from Quartetto n. 5

Samuel Barber
Molto adagio from Quartetto op. 11
Dmitrij Šostakovič
Adagio from Quartetto n. 3 in fa maggiore op. 73

Kaija Saariaho
Excerpts from Fleur de neiges
John Adams
Stubble Crochet and Toot Nipple
€ 5

Other shows on this theater